How and when to watch the Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony

0
54

One thing I can tell you is that this year is really packed after witnessing Euro 2020 and the Copa America 2020 is now time for the Olympics. It seems that all the activities that couldn’t take place last year due to the coronavirus were all packed down to this year. We are not going to get any breathing space because the Champions League is around the corner.

Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony
Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony

If you are a fan of the Olympics then you are in the right article. this is because the Olympics opening ceremony is almost as watched and anticipated as the main Olympics games. So in this article, I will be showing you how to watch and when to watch the Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony.

Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony

If you have been following the Olympic games since when you had had senses enough then you will know that the Olympic opening ceremony is always a sight to behold. There are a lot of activities and cultural festivities during the opening ceremony. Just like as I have said above it is almost as anticipated as the main Olympics itself. 

Now the good news is the Tokyo Olympics is just weeks away, and we are left with this Olympics opening ceremony to keep us occupied before then. The opening ceremony always goes together with pageantry, Cultural artistic display amongst other performances even the ones that set the internet on fire. It is always done to showcase the different cultures of the host nation.

Tokyo Olympics

Like we all know the Olympics is an international multi-sport event,  where almost all the countries come together to compete in various kinds of sports for the top position. The Tokyo Olympics was scheduled to take place from 23 July to 8 August 2021 in Tokyo, Japan but was postponed due to covid-19. However, the event still had the same name as the Tokyo Summer Olympics 2020. 

This is just to give you a brief summary of the Olympics and why it is holding in 2021. Now let’s get back to the article as this is out of the way.

What time is the Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony?

Well, to cut the long story short the Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony takes place on Friday, July 23 at 7 a.m. EDT (4 a.m. PDT).

  • If you are in the UK that time will be 12 noon BST on Friday, July 23.
  • Then for those In Australia, it’s 9 p.m. AEST on Friday, July 23.

How to watch the Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony?

If you are wondering how to watch the Tokyo opening ceremony this is it. If you are in the U.S. you can catch it live and direct on NBC.  NBC is scheduled to broadcast the first day of the Olympics opening ceremony. If you are in the US the time is 6:55 a.m. EDT (3:55 a.m. PDT).

However if by any chance you missed the opening ceremony NBC will also rebroadcast it at 7:30 p.m. EDT (4:30 p.m. PDT).

If you are in the UK you can catch it with BBC and Eurosport, whereas in Australia you can stream it on any free-to-air TV live and Direct. The channel to watch in Australia is channel 7 and you can get it there on the 7plus streaming service.

Where is the Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony taking place?

The opening ceremony will take place at the Japan national stadium which is also known as the Olympic Stadium. 

2020 Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony Tickets

According to the five Party meeting and the local minister pants working group meeting on the 8 of July, there are to be no tickets sold. This is because no spectators are to be allowed to the Tokyo 2020 events. 

The Tokyo Olympics 2020 is to be held behind closed doors so as to prevent the difficulty of traveling out of the country without declaring a state of emergency. and also to prevent the spread of the coronavirus. This is what the organizers have to say “ We deeply regret for all the ticket purchasers that this measure had to be put in place, though it is a critical measure to prevent the infection spread.”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here